How Long Does It Take To Become A Bounty Hunter in Kansas?
To be an official licensed bounty hunter in Kansas you must obtain a license, it costs about $250 and takes about 30 days for verification of application. There is no additional training required. The license is good for two years and has a $175 renewal fee. The licenses can be found here.
What Is A Bounty Enforcement Agent (BEA)?
A bounty enforcement agent (BEA) or commonly called bounty hunter, is required by Kansas law to…
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have no felonies (unless it is expunged)
- Be a US citizen
As of July 1st, 2016, bounty hunters in Kansas are now required to be licensed, the fee is $200 + $57 = $257 through a cashiers check only.
Although most bounty hunters have some form of background in investigation, police force or military, you need no special training to become a bounty hunter.
Bounty hunters in Kansas are allowed to track down any person who is released on an appearance bond and arrest that person, delivering them to the police or custodian of the court. They are also allowed to cross state lines, unlike the police, as long as they follow the rules and regulations and notify the state they enter.
Bounty hunters are allowed to use force if necessary to apprehend escapees.
I am looking to become a bounty hunter in Kansas in about 6 months to a year. Besides the license and equipment, how do I begin to participate in some recoveries?
You just have to petition some bail bonds companies. Or find an existing bounty hunter service and ask them what you can do to help or assist in order to gain some experience.
How can I pay to take the class